Task Force on Reaffirmation Compliance Certification


Provost & Vice President of Academic Affairs

Term Established:

Fall, 2014


In preparation for SACSCOC (Southern Association of Colleges & Schools Commission on Colleges) accreditation reaffirmation in Spring of 2017, Gordon State College must organize a number of leadership teams to prepare for the off-site and on-site reviews. These reviews will be conducted in Spring and Fall of 2016. The committee is charged with conducting a review of the SACSCOC core requirements and comprehensive standards and federal requirements to help us identify any gaps we might have. We will use this opportunity to address identified gaps prior to writing the compliance report.


  • Ed Whitelock, Compliance Certification Chair
  • Terry Betkowski, SACSCOC Liaison
  • Richard Baskin, Associate VP Academic Affairs
  • Dennis Chamberlain, VP Student Affairs
  • Janet Barras, Registrar
  • Jeff Hayes, Director of Computer Services
  • Kim Clark, Director of Institutional Research
  • Clint Chastain, Comptroller
  • Sonya Gaither, Librarian
  • Business & Public Service: Brenda Johnson
  • Biology: Linda Hyde
  • Fine Arts & Performing Arts: Tony Pearson
  • History & Political Science: Frank Winters
  • Humanities: Adria Goldman
  • Mathematics & Physical Science: John George
  • School of Education: Pam Bell
  • School of Nursing: Christina Quinn

Member Selection Process:

The Provost consulted with the Assistant Vice President of Institutional Effectiveness/SACSCOC Liaison and the Deans of the three schools. Representatives from each of the academic units as well as staff representatives from key areas within the institution were chosen. Dr. Ed Whitelock had previously agreed to serve as chair and all other members agreed to serve as of August 6, 2014.




Reaffirmation Compliance Certification Task Force
Charge (pdf)

Agenda/ Minutes