Gordon’s Presidential Fellows Program Continues

Gordon State College’s Presidential Fellows Program continues following its establishment last year. Eight students have been selected to serve as the second round of ambassadors for the president and the college for the 2021-2022 academic year.

The Presidential Fellows Program offers exceptionally talented students the opportunity to develop their leadership potential through unique exposure to events hosted on campus, substantive work assignments and horizon-broadening education opportunities. The Presidential Fellows Program aligns with the college’s five-year strategic plan, Building the Power of WE! which emphasizes student leadership experiences to increase student engagement and development.

“At Gordon State College, we are committed to providing students with a well-rounded experience that fully prepares them for success,” said Dr. Kirk A. Nooks, GSC President. “The Presidential Fellows Program is a unique opportunity for students to unlock their leadership potential. Our new Presidential Fellows are exemplary students who truly personify the Highlander EDGE, and we are looking forward to seeing what they achieve.”

The Highlander EDGE stands for the qualities that set Gordon State graduates apart: Engaged Innovators, Dedicated Scholars, Gifted Communicators, and Ethical Leaders.

The eight prestigious students were vetted through an application and interview process. Presidential Fellows include: Nyla Campbell, junior dual enrollment student from Henry County; Precious Clark, senior dual enrollment student from Lamar County; Jerius Edge, senior business management and administration major from Talbot County; Akeem Fortune, senior business management and administration major from Henry County; Amber Fraley, senior biology major from Clayton County; Jawuan Stephens, sophomore biology major from Fulton County; Claire Williams, junior nursing major from Rockdale County; and Michael Zuniga, senior business management and administration major from Butts County.


Left to right: top row: Jerius Edge, Amber Fraley, Michael Zuniga, bottom row: Claire Williams, Akeem Fortune, Precious Clark, not pictured: Nyla Campbell and Jawuan Stephens.