Gordon State College Foundation Holds Retreat on Campus

Members of the Gordon State College Foundation Board of Trustees spent Wednesday in retreat on the GSC campus.

Sue Chipman, principal at SBC Nonprofit Consulting, LLC, facilitated the meeting and led board members through group exercises designed to refresh them on the purpose of the board, and the roles, responsibilities, and expectations of the individual members.

The Trustees also heard from GSC President Kirk A. Nooks who shared campus demographics and campus trends information. Nooks noted that while Gordon State pulls students from across the U.S. and Georgia, emphasis is now being put on a 14-county service area that includes Bibb, Clayton, Coweta, Crawford, Fayette, Henry, Lamar, Meriwether, Monroe, Pike, Spalding, Talbot, and Upson.

“The day was full of energy and excitement. The Foundation Board has partnered with Gordon State College for years, and we are appreciative of the work they do for us,” said Nooks as he reflected on the day. “Moving forward Gordon State College and the Foundation Board will work on goals that advance the institution and align with the transition we are currently undergoing. I am excited to see the evolution and growth of such a strong relationship.”

Griffin physician Dr. Kevin Napier, a new member of the board and Gordon State alumnus, said he found the information shared Wednesday helpful.

“It was a great meeting,” he said. “The information presented was enlightening and will help form the vision for the Foundation and ultimately Gordon State College.”

The Gordon State College Foundation, established in 1972, seeks to support and enhance the work of Gordon State College through securing financial resources for the further development and growth of the College.

Members include, Phillip Bell, chairman; Lucinda Dallas, vice-chair; Derrick Lewis, treasurer; Kirk A. Nooks, secretary; Bob Harris, at large; Scott Blackstock, Aaron Buice, Andy Bush, George Butler, Kenny Coggins, Bill Alan Connell ,Cooper, Robert Dickey, Jim Edwards, Jr., John Edwards Jr., Lindy Farmer, Bill Fears, Jim Granum, Bob Harris, George Hightower, Jr., Chase Idol, Tamara Ison, Curtis Jenkins, Terry Killingsworth, Jeff Manley, Charles McDaniel, Ed Mitchell, Kevin Napier, Don Neuner, Eddie Rogers, Kike Seda, Dan White, Jennie Woodlee