Droegmiller Named GSC Outstanding Scholar



Amy Droegmiller has been named the Gordon State College Outstanding Scholar for the 2015-16 academic year.

As Gordon's Outstanding Scholar, Droegmiller was recognized along with students from other University System of Georgia institutions on Academic Recognition Day during the recent session of the Georgia General Assembly.

Academic Recognition Day was first held in 1987 as a "celebration of individual academic achievement and recognition of those students who exemplify that which is best about the University System of Georgia and its institutions."

A non-traditional student, Droegmiller promised her eldest daughter when she was in kindergarten that mom would go to college. That daughter is now 9 and has a 6- year-old sister.

Droegmiller has officially earned a degree in biology but will now start working on her teaching certification. She is on track to graduate in December 2018 and would like to teach biology in Spalding County where her daughters attend school.

A little older than a traditional student, Droegmiller says her fellow students have always been respectful and inclusive. She also praises the professors at Gordon.

"The small class size here is a bonus and professors are so accessible and so supportive," she said. "I would advise anyone thinking of going to or returning to college to not put it off. Just jump right in, everything has a way of working out."

"Amy was a very hard worker," said Amanda Duffus, assistant professor of biology. "She always asked good questions and was a pleasure to have in class."

Droegmiller was recently recognized, along with other outstanding students, during a banquet attended by parents and faculty. She was also recognized for her work as a tutor in the Student Success Center.

Students chosen for academic achievement by their respective department or schools included Kaitlyn Ballew, School of Education; Rebecca Bostwick, School of Nursing and Health Sciences; Toni Creson, Department of Business and Public Service; Amy Droegmiller, Student Success Center; Jared Gillis, Department of Math and Physical Science;

Gregory Jones, Department of History and Political Science; Sarah Kimbrel, Department of Humanities; Madelynn Mount, School of Education; Matthew Ringler-Lantzy, Department of Biology and Computer Science; Julia Whitt, Honors Program.