Quick Links    My Gordon    Site Map    Facebook  Twitter  YouTube  
A unit of the University System of Georgia

Library Committee


The purpose of the Library Committee shall be to make recommendations on all matters relevant to the maintenance of an effective library program.


The committee shall be composed of:

  • Faculty Senator (1)
  • Director of Hightower Library
  • Other Faculty members, 1 per school
  • Student (1); Elected by SGA
  • Staff Representative, from Information Technology (1)
  • President, non-voting
  • Provost & Vice President for Academic Affairs, non-voting


The committee shall make recommendations on all matters concerning the library, such as:

  • library requirements; staffing and equipment
  • acquisitions
  • operating hours


  • Faculty Senator: Prof. Wendy Martin, Recorder
  • Director of Library: Dr. Sonya Gaither, Chair
  • President: Dr. Max Burns (non-voting)
  • Provost & Vice President for Academic Affairs: Dr. C. Jeffery Knighton (non-voting)
  • Faculty Members from Each School
    • School of Arts & Sciences: Dr. Jeff Rogers
    • School of Education: Dr. Katie Wester-Neal
    • School of Nursing & Health Sciences: Dr. Elizabeth Nwabuebo
  • Staff Representative from Information Technology: Mr. Walter Bibbs
  • One student elected by SGA: Princess Clark (Fall 2017); TBD (Spring 2018)

View 2016-2017 Committee Membership

AY 2017-2018 Agenda/Minutes

Archived Records