Quick Links    My Gordon    Site Map    Facebook  Twitter  YouTube  
A unit of the University System of Georgia

General Education Committee


The purpose of the General Education Committee shall be to oversee the assessment of the core curriculum.


  1. Dean of the School of Arts and Sciences
  2. Assistant Vice President for Institutional Effectiveness
  3. One faculty member with at least one year of full-time teaching experience from each academic unit from the School of Arts and Sciences
  4. Faculty Senator (1)

Members will serve two-year terms.


The General Education Committee shall work with the Faculty Senate Assessment Committee in achieving Gordon State College academic assessment and review processes in accordance with established timelines.

2017-2018 Members

  • Interim Dean of the School of Arts and Sciences: Dr. Richard Baskin
  • Assistant VP for Institutional Effectiveness: Professor Terry Betkowski
  • Faculty Senate Representative: Dr. James Awbrey, Business and Public Service
  • Faculty From Academic Units
    • Department of Biology and Physical Sciences: Dr. Joyce Klaus
    • Department of Business and Public Service: Dr. Kalisha Smith
    • Department of History and Political Science: Dr. Franklin Williamson, Recorder
    • Department of Humanities: Dr. Cortney McLeod, Chair
    • Department of Math and Computer Science: Dr. Allen Fuller
    • Programs in Fine and Performing Arts: Dr. Masoud Nourizadeh

View 2016-2017 Committee Membership

AY 2017-2018 Agenda/Minutes