Quick Links    My Gordon    Site Map    Facebook  Twitter  YouTube  
A unit of the University System of Georgia

Academic Assessment Committee


The Academic Assessment Committee shall provide leadership and oversight to support the quality of education and academic related services at Gordon State College.


The committee shall be composed of:

  • Faculty Senator (1)
  • Provost & Vice President for Academic Affairs
  • Representative from Institutional Effectiveness
  • Director of Student Success
  • Other Faculty,with at least one year served at Gordon State College, 1 per academic unit


The Committee shall:

  • coordinate academic assessment activities with the General Education Assessment Committee
  • serve in an advisory capacity to the President, Provost and Planning Committee by submitting an annual report concerning the strengths and weaknesses of academic programs and student learning outcomes and to review the consistency of our educational activities with our mission
  • promote assessment activities on campus
  • ensure that institutional assessment activities meet the criteria of the University System of Georgia (USG), Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC) and other accrediting agencies by providing feedback as peer reviewers to other committees and academic units performing assessments

2017-2018 Members

  • Faculty Senator: Dr. Erik McCarthy, Humanities
  • Provost & Vice President for Academic Affairs: Dr. C. Jeffery Knighton
  • Representative from Institutional Effectiveness: Prof. Terry Betkowski
  • Director of Student Success: Professor Peter Higgins
  • Faculty from Academic Units
    • Department of ASN: Prof. Margie Wright
    • Department of BSN and HIM: Dr. Annette Jackson
    • Department of Biology and Physical Sciences: Dr. Andy Osborne
    • Department of Business and Public Service: Dr. James Awbrey, Chair
    • Department of History and Political Science: Dr. Brian Webb
    • Department of Humanities: Dr. Erik McCarthy
    • Department of Math and Computer Science: None
    • Programs in Fine and Performing Arts: None
    • School of Education: Dr. Cindy Casebeer, Recorder
    • Library: Prof. Beth Pye

Additional Faculty member from the units being assessed in 2017-2018:

  • Associate of Science in Nursing: Prof. Samantha Bishop
  • Bachelor of Science in Nursing: Dr. Christina Quinn
  • Bachelor of Science in Health Information Management: Prof. Stephen Agyare

View 2016-2017 Committee Membership

AY 2017-2018 Agenda/Minutes

Archived Records.