Quick Links    My Gordon    Site Map    Facebook  Twitter  YouTube  
A unit of the University System of Georgia

Admissions Committee


The Admissions Committee serves in an advisory capacity to the Director of Admissions.  The Admissions Committee is appointed by the President and performs a variety of tasks related to clarifying admissions policies and applying these policies in exceptional cases.


The Admissions Committee hears academic appeals from Gordon State College students wishing to be readmitted; reviews files of students who are on academic suspension or exclusion at other institutions and are seeking admission to Gordon College; considers refunds of housing deposits for students who decide not to live in the campus housing; hears appeals for waiver of the out-of-state tuition charges and reviews petitions for Georgia residence classification; hears appeals of students who were denied residence hall space or admission to the College; reviews files of students with criminal convictions seeking admission to the College; periodically makes recommendations to the Faculty for changes in admissions requirements or admissions policy applications.

2017-2018 Members

  • Gordon State College President – Interim President Dr. Stuart Rayfield
  • Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs – Dr. Jeffery Knighton
  • Vice President for Student Affairs – Dr. Dennis Chamberlain
  • Director of Admissions – Matthew Little
  • Registrar – Janet Barras