Quick Links    My Gordon    Site Map    Facebook  Twitter  YouTube  
A unit of the University System of Georgia

Board of Regents of the University System of Georgia

return to contents

(Adopted December 13, 1967)
(Revised December 13, 1972)

  1. Name: The official name of the Board of Regents under its constitution charter is “BOARD OF REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY SYSTEM OF GEORGIA.”
  2. Charter: The charter of the corporation consists of the original charter of the Trustees of the University of Georgia embodied in the Act of the General Assembly of the State of Georgia approved January 27, 1785; Article 6, Sections 45 through 77 of the Reorganization Act of the State of Georgia, Georgia Laws of 1931, and all other laws of the State of Georgia applicable to the Board of Regents.
  3. Seal: The official seal of the Board of Regents shall have inscribed thereon the words “BOARD OF REGENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY SYSTEM OF GEORGIA,” the year 1785 and the word “SEAL.”
  4. Institutions of the University: The University System of Georgia shall consist of the following institutions and such other institutions as may be established by the Regents from time to time:
University System Institution Location
Abraham Baldwin Agricultural College Tifton
Albany State University Albany
Armstrong State University Savannah
Atlanta Metropolitan State College Atlanta
Augusta University Augusta
Bainbridge State College Bainbridge
Clayton State University Morrow
College of Coastal Georgia Brunswick
Columbus State University Columbus
Dalton State College Dalton
East Georgia State College Swainsboro
Fort Valley State University Fort Valley
Georgia College & State University Milledgeville
Georgia Gwinnett College Lawrenceville
Georgia Highlands College Rome
Georgia Institute of Technology Atlanta
Georgia Southern University Statesboro
Georgia Southwestern State University Americus
Georgia State University Atlanta
Gordon State College Barnesville
Kennesaw State University Kennesaw
Middle Georgia State University Macon
Savannah State University Savannah
South Georgia State College Douglas
University of Georgia Athens
University of North Georgia Dahlonega
University of West Georgia Carrollton
Valdosta State University Valdosta

A 19-member constitutional Board of Regents governs the University System of Georgia, which has been in operation since 1932. Appointments of Board members are made by the Governor, subject to confirmation by the State Senate. The regular term of Board members is seven years.

return to top